I Hate Marketing.

brettjordan

However it’s a necessary evil.

How do I know? Because with my first novella serial, There are No Gods for Arthropods, I was naive enough to think the “writing” would bring readers.

No, that’s not how it works.

You see, in the wild west world of indie publishing, you’ve got to have a plan before you even finish your first draft. You’ve got to start thinking where you find potential readers. I feel “icky” having to think that way, but that’s the old school writer in me. The new school is all about self-promotion and smart promotion. The good part of my plan is twitter isn’t a huge necessity, because in all honesty, I think social media is only helpful after you’ve gotten some kind of audience. ¬†Otherwise, you’re just another desperate writer among thousands of writers on twitter.

(image via khrawlings)

Leave a Reply

