Why So Serious?

7627813074_50f9774a39_c

There’s this distinct bristling I see whenever I tell people (other writers, especially) that I’m self-publishing.

Why is that?

Many are absolutely compelled to warn you that most self-published writers fail.  They urge you to rethink your decision. They ignore you when you do it anyway. Luckily, I don’t care too much what others think. You’ll have to have a hide as thick as an adamantoise if you want to make it in the creative arts, unfortunately. Honestly, I’d say that’s just life advice.

I’m writing this post because I don’t understand why we’re not on the same side. We all struggle and want the same thing–readers who enjoy what we write. Whatever path you choose, there’s risk of failure.  What’s distinctly different about failing as a self-published writer?

I’m not saying we have to hug each other and hold a bake sale. I’m just asking why can’t we root for each other’s success?

There’s a great post I read last night written by Rachel Thompson last year. It still rings true today.

To any self-pubber who’s reading this, I want you to keep trying. I want you to ignore everybody (which is also a great book by the way!) and keep going.  I realize a lot of my posts are motivational; I can’t help it.  I want writers to follow their dreams no matter what the journey looks like.

Out.

-r.w.

Photo via JDHancock

2 thoughts on “Why So Serious?

  1. I think, for a long time, those who went the self-published route often succumbed to failure at selling (due to any number of reasons including lack of quality, which is what traditionally published proponents point out most often), and therefore quit writing; thus, really failing. I think, the only way a writer really fails is when they quit writing.

    Good luck with your launch! 🙂

    • I’m going to artfully side-step the quality debate, because my opinion on it is probably obvious. 🙂 But I do agree that quitting is the second worst kind of failure. The first kind is never having tried. Thanks for the well wishing!

Leave a Reply

